Restoring Trust and Integrity in Our Texas House 

“A lie doesn't become truth, wrong doesn't become right, and evil doesn't become good, just because it's accepted by a majority.” - Booker T. Washington 

WHEREAS recent revelations concerning a meeting initiated by Speaker Dennis Bonnen to Michael Q Sullivan has caused many Texans to distrust our elected officials and government as a whole; and 

WHEREAS the substance of the recorded conversation of the meeting shows undeniable evidence of scandalous premeditated corruption, bribery, and subjugation with arrogance, malice and intent to undermine individuals elected to serve their districts, as well as hi-jack the Rule of Order in the Texas House; and. 

WHEREAS after the meeting was reported, the Speaker denied and obfuscated the truth about the premise of the meeting, the remarks he made, and the prepared list of 10 targeted representatives he hoped would be ‘taken out’ in the 2020 election with Mr. Sullivan’s help; and 

WHEREAS upon taking office an elected official takes an oath to faithfully execute the duties of the office, which the citizens of Texas deserve and expect to be done with principled leadership and integrity; and 

WHEREAS the Republican Party of Texas sets high standards of conduct for its members from the precinct level to the Office of Governor. 

BE IT RESOLVED that the Montgomery County Republican Party affirms that corruption & bribery within our state government shall not be condoned, and we call for the immediate resignation of Speaker Dennis Bonnen. Furthermore we call for the Republican House Caucus to appoint a new Speaker and, 

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Rep. Morgan Meyer and Rep. Matt Krause, who are tasked to investigate these crimes of bribery in the General Investigating Committee of the House, have already received in-kind campaign contributions from Speaker Bonnen’s PAC, we avidly concur with the General Investigation Committee to refer this matter to the Texas Rangers for an unbiased report that will be made public at its conclusion and, 

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Republican Party of Texas issue a public statement condemning such actions, address the gravity of the damage, and assure the public that the organization will not tolerate anything that compromises the conservative principles and standards we hold ourselves to. 

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be sent to Governor Greg Abbott, Lt Governor Dan Patrick, Attorney General Ken Paxton, the Republican State Party of Texas State Chairman, James Dickey, Texas State Senator Robert Nichols, Texas State Senator Brandon Creighton SD# 4, Texas State Representative Cecil Bell HD# 3, Texas State Representative Steve Toth HD# 15, Texas State Representative Will Metcalf HD#16, Speaker Dennis Bonnen, Representative Stephanie Klick – newly appointed Chairman of the Republican House Caucus, our Republican Party County Chair Dr. Walter Wilkerson, and our SREC members Walter West (SD4), Allison Winter (SD4), Terry Holcomb (SD3), and Judy Parada (SD3). 

Adopted this 20th day of August, 2019, by Montgomery County Republican Party Executive Committee